Jump to page content

Board of Directors

The Berlin Institute of Health at Charité (BIH) is led by a Board of Directors, responsible for strategic planning and implementation of the research program.

Board Members

  • Prof. Dr. Christopher Baum

    Chairman of the Board of Directors of Berlin Institute of Health and Chief Translational Research Officer of Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

  • Andrea Runow

    Administrative Director (comm.)

Professor Christopher Baum is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the BIH. More information about Professor Baum can be found in his curriculum vitae.

Members of the Extended Management Committee

Prof. Dr. Axel Radlach Pries

Dean of the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin

The Extended Directorate consists of:

  • Professor Axel R. Pries (Dean)
  • four persons belonging to the full-time scientific staff of the Translational Research Unit.

The members according to sentence 1 number 2 are elected by the full-time scientific staff of the Translational Research Area for a period of three years.

The members will be announced shortly.

Governing Board

All activities of BIH are supervised by the Supervisory Board, which is also responsible for approving essential decisions such as the business plan, strategic planning, appointments, and investments.

Deputies of the German Government
Deputies of the German Government  
State Secretary Christian Luft Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Chair
Deputies of the federal state of Berlin
Deputies of the federal state of Berlin  
State Secretary Steffen Krach Office of The Senate for Science, Deputy Chair
External experts
External experts  
Prof. Monika Jungbauer Gans Scientific management, German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies (DZHW)
Prof. Blanche Schwappach-Pignataro Dean, Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE)
Dr. Christian Rommel Head of Research and Development, Division Pharmaceuticals, BAYER AG
Annette Schavan Federal Minister a. D.

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is responsible for providing the Executive Board and Supervisory Board with external specialized knowledge regarding future important research topics and ongoing scientific and strategic issues; it meets every six months. At present the Scientific Advisory Board consists of thirteen international experts in translational research and systems medicine.

Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Lina Badimon
Institute for Cardiovascular Science, Barcelona, Spain

Vice Chair

Dr. André Terzic
Mayo Clinic, USA

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board
Name Institution
Prof. Alastair Buchan Medical School und Medical Sciences Division, University of Oxford, England
Jan Geissler Patvocates GmbH, Germany
Prof. Roland Lauster TU Berlin, Germany
Prof. Teri Manolio National Human Genome Research Institute, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD, USA
Prof. Miriam Merad Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York
Prof. Maritta Perälä-Heape University of Oulu, Finland
Prof. Sibrand Poppema Sunway University, Malaysia
Prof. Aviv Regev Head of Genentech and Early Development, Roche, USA
Prof. Alan R. Shuldiner University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, USA
Dr. Georg Schütte Volkswagen Foundation, Germany
Prof. Fabian Theis Helmholtz Zentrum München, Germany
Prof. David A. Williams Chief, Division of Hematology/Oncology, Boston Children’s Hospital / Harvard Medical School, USA