The Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is responsible for providing the Executive Board and Supervisory Board with external specialized knowledge regarding future important research topics and ongoing scientific and strategic issues; it meets every six months. At present the Scientific Advisory Board consists of thirteen international experts in translational research and systems medicine.

Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Lina Badimon
Institute for Cardiovascular Science, Barcelona, Spain

Vice Chair

Dr. André Terzic
Mayo Clinic, USA

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board



Prof. Elizabeth Blackburn

Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, USA

Prof. Alastair Buchan

Medical School und Medical Sciences Division, University of Oxford, England

Jan Geissler

Patvocates GmbH, Germany

Prof. Roland Lauster

TU Berlin, Germany

Prof. Teri Manolio

National Human Genome Research Institute, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD, USA

Prof. Miriam Merad

Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York

Prof. Maritta Perälä-Heape

University of Oulu, Finland

Prof. Sibrand Poppema

Sunway University, Malaysia

Prof. Alan R. Shuldiner

University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, USA

Dr. Georg Schütte

Volkswagen Foundation, Germany

Prof. Fabian Theis

Helmholtz Zentrum München, Germany