The Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is responsible for providing the Directorate and Supervisory Board with external specialized knowledge regarding future important research topics and ongoing scientific and strategic issues; it meets every six months. At present the Scientific Advisory Board consists of thirteen international experts in translational research and systems medicine.

Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Jörg Hacker
German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, (Halle, Germany)

Vice-Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Veronica van Heyningen
University of Edinburgh/Institute of Genetics and Moleculare Medicine (Edinburgh, UK)

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board

Name Institution
Prof. Robert C. Bast, Jr., M.D. The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (Houston, USA)
Prof. Elizabeth Blackburn Salk Institute for Biological Studies (La Jolla, USA)
Prof. Alastair Buchan Medical School und Medical Sciences Division, University of Oxford (UK)
Prof. Stefanie Dimmeler Institut für Kardiovaskuläre Regeneration im Zentrum für Molekulare Medizin (Frankfurt/Main, Germany)
Prof. Amanda Fisher Imperial College/Institute of Clinical Science (London, UK)
Jan Geisser Patvocates GmbH, Germany
Prof. Miriam Merad Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York
Prof. Sibrand Poppema University of Groningen (Groningen, NL)
Prof. Alan R. Shuldiner University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, USA
Prof. Thomas C. Südhof Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, USA