BIH Supervisory Board

All activities of BIH are supervised by the Supervisory Board, which is also responsible for approving essential decisions such as the business plan, strategic planning, appointments, and investments. 

Members of the BIH Supervisory Board

Deputies of the German Government:


State Secretary Christian Luft

Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Chair

Dr. Jan Grapentin

Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Deputies of the federal state of Berlin:


State Secretary Steffen Krach

Office of The Senate for Science, Deputy Chair

State Secretary Vera Junker

Senate Department for Finance, Berlin

Stefan Oelrich

Member of the Board of Management of Bayer AG

Joint Deputy of Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin:


Professor Günter M. Ziegler

President, Freie Universität Berlin

Deputy of the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres:


Professor Otmar D. Wiestler

President of the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres

External experts:


Professor Günter Stock

CEO, Einstein Foundation Berlin

Sonja Jost

Chief Executive Officer, DexLeChem GmbH

BIH Member from Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin:


Professor Britta Siegmund

Director Medical Center for Gastroenterology, Infectiology and Rheumatology

BIH Member from the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC) in the Helmholtz Association:


Professor Claus Scheidereit

Coordinator Cancer Research at the MDC

Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board:


Professor Lina Badimon

Institute for Cardiovascular Science, Barcelona, Spain