Ritter Lab - Brain Simulation

Brain simulation helps us understanding how our brain works – and developing personalized therapies for its diseases

Large-scale brain network simulation based on recent break-through research in computational neuroscience is revolutionizing diagnosis and treatment of brain diseases like Alzheimer’s, Stroke or Epilepsy, and opens the door to truly personalized medicine. All over the world, clinics are engaging in large studies of how to use brain simulation in their daily disease management. Our lab has been spearheading this development, providing expertise, tools and resources for turning raw brain imaging data into useful virtual patient “avatars”. We have assembled a unique team from different fields to overcome the challenges of multi-modal data acquisition and processing, producing feasible and scalable software solutions and interpreting simulation results.  Our goal is to improve brain simulation to a level where we can offer elegant and powerful turn-key solutions for many use cases, from clinical application to education and entertainment.

Our team is growing fast and we would be happy to welcome you, e.g. as software developer, lab manager or research assistant! Check out our current job openings or send us your spontaneous application!

Selected publications

Schirner, McIntosh, Jirsa, Deco, Ritter (2018) Inferring multi-scale neural mechanisms with brain network modelling. eLife

Deco, Kringelbach, Jirsa, Ritter (2017) The dynamics of resting fluctuations in the brain: metastability and its dynamical core. Scientific Reports

Kringelbach, McIntosh, Ritter, Jirsa, Deco (2015) The rediscovery of slowness: exploring the timing of cognition. Trends in Cognitive Science 19(10):616-28

Schirner, M., S. Rothmeier, V. Jirsa, A. R. McIntosh and Ritter, P. (2015). An automated pipeline for constructing personalised virtual brains from multimodal neuroimaging data. Neuroimage.

Team

Balasubramanian, Hymavathy, BSc (Electrical Engineering)
Role: PhD student
hymavathy.balasubramanian@charite.de

Bargfeld, Felix, cand. Med. (Medicine)
Role: PhD student
Felix.bargfeld@charite.de

Chettouf, Sabrina, MSc (Human Movement Sciences)
Role: PhD student
sabrina.chettouf@charite.de

Courtiol, Julie, MSc (Mathematics)
Role: Postdoc
julie.courtiol@charite.de

Diaz Cortes, Margarita, MSc. (Computer Science)
Student assistant
diazcortes.margarita@gmail.com

Dürrwald, Lina-Marie (Medicine)
Role: PhD student
lina-marie.duerrwald@charite.de

Ghani, Amna, MSc (Cognitive and Clinical Neuroscience)
Role: PhD student
amna.ghani@charite.de

Kapsis, Alexis, MSc (Biomedical Engineering)
Role: PhD student
alexis.kapsis@charite.de

Knol, Hester, PhD (Human movement sciences)
Role: Postdoc
Hester.knol@charite.de

Palmer, Jessica, BAA (Illustration)
Multi-media Artist
jessica.palmer@charite.de

Perdikis, Dionysios, PhD (Human Movement Science)
Role: Postdoc
Dionysios.perdikis@charite.de

Rothmeier, Simon, MSc (Scientific Computing)
Role: PhD student
simon.rothmeier@charite.de

Schirner, Michael, PhD (Bioinformatics)
Role: Postdoc
michael.schirner@charite.de

Spiegler, Andreas, PhD (Computational Neuroscience and Biomedical Engineering)
Role: Postdoc
andreas.spiegler@charite.de

Stefanovski, Leon, MD (Medical Doctor)
Role: PhD student
leon.stefanovski@charite.de

Triebkorn, Paul, MD (Medical Doctor)
Role: MD, PhD student
jan-paul.triebkorn@charite.de

Zhang, Juanli, MSc (Biomedical Engineering)
Role: PhD student
juanli.zhang@charite.de