BIH Digital Health Center

Digital medicine is considered medicine of the future. Novel methods and technologies combined with new digital data from the laboratory and the patient’s bedside will enable more precise predictions and personalized therapies. BIH aims to accelerate these revolutionary digital innovations into medical practice by establishing the new BIH Digital Health Center. With Professor Roland Eils, BIH has won over a renowned expert for biomedical informatics, genomics and personalized medicine as head of this center.

"The objective of my research is to understand complex disease-relevant processes using molecular and image-based data", says Roland Eils. “Combining these data with clinical data will render a more accurate picture of a disease so that patients will receive more reliable diagnoses and better fitted therapies in future." To do this, Eils uses methods of artificial intelligence, big data analytics and mathematical modeling.

Digital health “made in Berlin”

Roland Eils has ambitious plans for his research in Berlin. His intention is to expand the Berlin research area into a common data space and create a "hub" for digital health. He also entertains the goal of upscaling the digital health infrastructure, so that the huge flood of data from research and patient care can be used efficiently. Already today his laboratory processes as much data every day as Twitter does with its short messages. In his work the mathematician and molecular biologist profits from the successful establishment of numerous national and international consortia on biomedical informatics and genomics.  Eils is coordinator of the medical informatics consortium HiGHmed, which is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

AIlsLab

Thore Bürgel
PhD student
+49 (0)30 450 543 119
thore.buergel@charite.de

Lukas Loock
Medical computer scientist

Julius Upmeier zu Belzen
Student assistant
julius.upmeier@charite.de

Noah Hollmann
Student assistant
noah.hollmann@charite.de

Health Cloud

Jürgen Eils
Group leader Health Data
+49 (0)30 450 543 103
juergen.eils@charite.de

Christian Lawerenz
Group leader Health Data
+49 (0)30 450 543 087
christian.lawerenz@charite.de

Jan Philipp Albrecht
Bioinformatician

Martin Braun
Cloud developer/IT system administrator Cloud
+49 (0)30 450 543 107
martin.braun@charite.de

Gideon Giacomelli
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
+49 (0)30 450 543
gideon.giacomelli@charite.de

Stefan Schneider
IT system administrator Cloud
+49 (0)30 450 543 111
stefan.schneider@charite.de

Philipp Strubel
System administrator/IT specialist
+49 (0)30 450 543 095
philipp.strubel@charite.de

Dr. Sven Twardziok
Cloud developer
+49 (0)30 450 543 105
sven.twardziok@charite.de

Ben Wulf
Bioinformatician
+49 (0)30 450 543 120
ben.wulf@charite.de

Intelligent Imaging

Dr. Christian Conrad
Group leader Intelligent Imaging
+49 (0)30 450 543 098
christian.conrad@charite.de

Robert Lorenz Chua
PhD student
+49 (0)30 450 543 098
robert-lorenz.chua@charite.de

Katharina Jechow
Lab Manager
+49 (0)30 450 543 086
katharina.jechow@charite.de

Dr. Teresa Krieger
PostDoc
teresa.krieger@charite.de

Johannes Liebig
PhD student
+49 (0)30 450 543 123
johannes.liebig@charite.de

Dr. Sören Lukassen
PostDoc
+49 (0)30 450 543 102
soeren.lukassen@charite.de

Dr. Agata Rakszewska
PostDoc
+49 (0)30 450 543 121
agata.rakszewska@charite.de

Alexander Sudy
PhD student
+49 (0)30 450 543 122
alexander.sudy@charite.de

Foo Wei Ten
PhD student
+49 (0)30 450 543 100
foo-wei.ten@charite.de

PhD Luca Tosti
PostDoc
+49 (0)30 450 543 099
luca.tosti@charite.de

Timo Trefzer
PhD student
+49 (0)30 450 543 101
timo.trefzer@charite.de

Adrian Huck
Student assistant
adrian.huck@charite.de

Dr. Li-Ling Yang
PostDoc
li-ling.yang@charite.de

Computational Oncology

PhD Naveed Ishaque
Group leader Computational Oncology
+49 (0)30 450 543 096
naveed.ishaque@charite.de

Matthias Bieg
Bioinformatician
+49 (0)30 450 543 090
matthias.bieg@charite.de

Olivia Debnath
PhD student
+49 (0)30 450 543 116
olivia.debnath@charite.de

Philipp Karau
PhD student
+49 (0)30 450 543 114
philipp.karau@charite.de

Shashwat Sahay
PhD student
+49 (0)30 450 543 118
shashwat.sahay@charite.de

Sebastian Tiesmeyer
PhD student
+49 (0)30 450 543 117
sebastian.tiesmeyer@charite.de